GSoC: Porting KDiamond (game) to Qt Quick

Yesterday, my proposal was selected by KDE for the Google Summer of Code 2012 program. So this summer I’ll be busy working under my GSoC organisation i.e. KDE with my mentor Ian Wadham and co-mentor David Edmundson.

About my project:
My project involves the idea of porting a KDE game “KDiamond” to “Qt Quick”. Here’s the abstract from my proposal

“KDiamond is one of the addictive KDE-Games. Whilst the game is very intuitive to play, I feel that the gameplay and the user interactions can be improved to make it more complelling. My proposal is to port KDiamond to Qt Quick – which would allow me to enhance the UI for better gameplay, and with the UI capabilities of QML – give a new feel of the game to the player. I also plan to add some more UI components like – dialogs, particles effect, transitions to the game to to make it more engaging and fun to play!”

Why I chose to work with KDE-Games:
Over the past 2 years I have been working with Qt/QML. The idea of developing games using Qt Quick has always attracted me. In fact, I have already developed games using Qt Quick for mobile. In the past couple of months, I have learned about KDE development environment. Hence KDE-Games seemed the perfect category to work on!

I’ll try to post more updates about my GSoC activities here. So stay tuned!

This entry was posted in Awards, Game, GSoC, KDE, Open Source, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

